Not all elliptical trainers are created equal

Image

When I’m coasting during a week of “rest” from the normal daily weight training regimen, I’ll still go to the gym and spend anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour on an elliptical trainer. As long as there’s something interesting to watch on one of the overhead TVs, I could go on and on. But not all ellipticals are created equal. In our gym, the standard elliptical machine rarely gets my heart rate out of the 120s. I barely break a sweat despite pushing the setting up to 15/20 and choosing a challenging program. So I have given up wasting my time on a standard elliptical and instead have started cardio workouts on something more challenging, like the Precor EFX 5761. Check out the results I logged today using my MIO Alpha heart rate monitor watch synched to DigiFit. You can see from the graph of my heart rate the two “mountains” I climbed in this challenging program. And it was a good calorie burn too.

Image

About gregrummo

Renaissance Man, Fitness Devotee, P90X (5X), P90X2 and P90X3 Graduate, Author, Businessman and Missionary to Peru.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

