Ahhhh… about those “cheat meals”

Image

I am dedicated to follow a strict regimen of monitoring daily calories consumed and burned through exercise using the Lose It! app as well as recording protein/fat/carbohydrate ratios. I almost never allow myself a “cheat meal” – OK – Thanksgiving and Christmas perhaps. But for me a “cheat meal” doesn’t consist of sweets i.e. cookies, cake, ice cream etc. nor do I gorge myself on huge portions. Maybe I’ll eat a little more of the good stuff or eat it prepared in a way that I otherwise don’t normally do. Last week we hosted missionary-friends from Peru in our home for 5 days. Of course we took them to the Peruvian section in town where we all enjoyed Peruvian cuisine including tostones (fried plantains) chicharrones de pescado (fried pieces of fish) and fried yucca (like French fries but yucca is not a potato but a starchy vegetable.) There was so much food on my plate that I shared a third, ate a third and took a third home for the next day. And I suppose that’s the best way to “cheat” – in moderation. (When I got on the scale on Monday morning I hadn’t gained a pound!)

About gregrummo

Renaissance Man, Fitness Devotee, P90X (5X), P90X2 and P90X3 Graduate, Author, Businessman and Missionary to Peru.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment